Binding With the Janome CoverPro 1000CP (With Binder Attachment) PART 2

Posted: July 21, 2010 in Janome Coverpro 1000CP, The Dying Art of Sewing, Tutorials

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m having a hard time getting used to the WordPress photo uploader so hopefully the slideshow will help you a little bit on how to set up and use the binder. With my Texas’ Testes sized migraine I don’t want to spend another minute on it. Anyway, I just received the generic Janome 3/8 finish binder attachment and pretty much crapped my pants (again) when I received it today. In another post I will show how I jerryrigged an attachment table for the binder that doubles as an extension table as well! Yeah, 30 years old and binder attachments make me shit my pants. Cool.

Comments
  1. […] Binding With the Janome CoverPro 1000CP (With Binder Attachment … Binding With the Janome CoverPro 1000CP (With Binder Attachment) PART 2. Posted: July 21, 2010 by A Mad Designtist in Janome Coverpro 1000CP The Dying Art of Sewing, Tutorials · 0. This slideshow requires JavaScript. […]

  2. sewsumdimsum says:

    Hi, I love your blog!! I was reading ur post on patternreview.com about “generic binder”. I too happen to bid on binder sets from ebay(same seller- NGOSEW..??) but my machine is Babylock Evolution. HE said it “fits” but will need an extension plate. I too didn’t want to pay for an extension plate so decided to try to make my own. I see from your post that you used a metal sheet plate(purchased from home depot). If you don’t mind, Can you please share, how were you able to drill holes in the DIY extension plate, so as to be able to use the screws(to attach/anchor the bias binder, itself, to the extension plate)? I have not received the bias binder- he said to do some research before I decide to pay for it. does that “double fold” bias binder work well on curves and stretchy knits? I’d really appreciate your feed back. I bid and paid for entire set- double fold and three-fold bias binders(total of 4) and the hemmer attachments(upturn hemmer and downturn hemmer/feller), from him. They all are suppose to fit Janome coverPRo AND Babylock Evolution. ANY TIP? I just need to know how you were able to get the screws to anchor it on to your “self made” extension plate? Thanks so much! As I am a Novice(with serger and coverstitch machines), I could really use your advice!

    • A Mad Designtist says:

      Hi! Thank you so much for your nice compliments. I don’t have any holes drilled into the extension table I made. It’s just taped fr now but if you did want to drill holes you’d need a decent drill with a metal drilling drill bit. The double fold bias binder works excellent on curves and knits, although it will take some practice to get used to it. For example, when binding on a curve, you must sew the garment and the binding in the curve without bending your fabric to go straight into the machine. I know I’m not explaining it right but try to imagine treating your fabric as a piece of paper when sewing, and you don’t want to bend or crumple that “paper”.

  3. sewsumdimsum says:

    Thanks so much for your reply and helpful info. I think I understand what you mean about curves… ALthough I have similar binder attachment for my regular sewing machine, I think it was easier for curves, because the pressor foot for the sewing machine is much smaller(my babylock Evolution has such a huge pressor foot)! DO you like your Janome CoverPro? I am thinking of buying a separate cover-stitch machine, because it’s such a pain to switch setting from serger to coverstitch. WOuld you recommend Janome COverPro? Anyother one you’d recommend? BTW, your blog is great- has your own personality! Will be following pretty regularly~ hope u don’t mind! ^_^

    • A Mad Designtist says:

      Yes I would definitely recommend the Janome Coverpro 1000CP! I strictly use it for coverstitching only and the stitches are very comparable to RTW. It’s a little loud but I really don’t mind. Have had mine for a few years now I think and have never had a problem. You can get the Janome Coverpro 900s for very cheap now (a few hundred I believe), and the only difference is that it doesn’t do the triple coverstitch (used mostly in active wear).

Leave a Reply

